Lipedema / lipoedema Awareness Day 6

There’s more to the story: there may be more WHYS to body SIZE!

(note: posting from the Shannon Airport on my way to London for an exciting weekend with Lipoedema UK – more will be posted this weekend about this event!)

When I first was diagnosed with lipedema, I was 63 years old. I had spent my life struggling with weight issues, and despite over 20+ years of a very low carb food plan that I weighed and measured for each meal, I couldn’t ever get to a normal weight. In retrospect, I can now see a combination of lack of knowledge on the part of the many healthcare providers I consulted, and the prevalence of weight stigma and anti-fat bias. For days I wondered around almost in shell shock. I had never considered it something like a disorder, and always assumed it was my fault, since that’s the most popular meme in our culture. This short clip are numerous highlights addressing this issue by many experts, doctors, researchers, and educators.

Comments and feedback most welcome! Remember to spread the word about lipedema. For more info http://www.lipedema-simplified.org

About catherineofcambridge

I am a Professor at Cambridge College in Massachusetts, teaching leadership development, research methods, and psychology. I am currently completing a Ph.D. in Media Psychology at Fielding Graduate University concentrating on empowering women who experience the distortions of body image as represented in the media. I am founder of lipoedema simplified LLC, dedicated to raising awareness and providing education for lipedema/lipoedema. I am the producer of the documentary and training programs about lipoedema: You Mean It’s Not My Fault: Lipoedema – A Fat Disorder.
This entry was posted in anti-fat bias, lipedema, Lipedema awareness, lipedema experts, lipedema project, lipoedema project, lipoedma, weight stigma. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

