Lipedema / lipoedema Awareness Day 5

There’s more to the story: there may be more WHYS to body SIZE!

Lipedema is hereditary, often passing from mother to daughter. It can also pass from father to daughter, men can be carriers even though they don’t themselves have the disorder.

Comments and feedback most welcome! Remember to spread the word about lipedema. For more info http://www.lipedema-simplified.org

About catherineofcambridge

I am a Professor at Cambridge College in Massachusetts, teaching leadership development, research methods, and psychology. I am currently completing a Ph.D. in Media Psychology at Fielding Graduate University concentrating on empowering women who experience the distortions of body image as represented in the media. I am founder of lipoedema simplified LLC, dedicated to raising awareness and providing education for lipedema/lipoedema. I am the producer of the documentary and training programs about lipoedema: You Mean It’s Not My Fault: Lipoedema – A Fat Disorder.
This entry was posted in lipedema, Lipedema awareness, lipoedma, obesity, uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

9 Responses to Lipedema / lipoedema Awareness Day 5

  1. inappropriatebehaviourinyour30s says:

    I’m so glad you have shown someone at stage 1. That is what I looked like for 20 years and now it’s started progressing. Also I didn’t know that those are the first areas you should check. This is exactly how it’s happened for me on the knees etc. Very interesting, well done!

  2. Christie says:

    Thank you so much. I just was DX with Lip but also Lymph. :{ one each thigh. @ 38. and it came from my mom, who got it from my great grandma. I was so upset before I had a reason, being a non eater an being big makes you mental. Cause you know, but they don’t know and you can’t make them understand. Heart ache.

  3. Christina says:

    Thank you for these video clips. It helps to see what the stages are. I guess I can now say I’m in stage 3.

  4. Jessica says:

    Great video showing the diagnostics…its the first time I’ve seen someone mention the first sign being nodules in the anticubital area, and that’ll be a great thing to mention to my PCP when I go talk to her. Could you tell me who the doc is?

  5. Wendy says:

    Hi there! To anyone who might be interested. I am having tumescent liposuction performed next week and I will documenting my journey (including before/during and after pics) on my blog here. http://mylipedemajourney.wordpress.com/ Please feel free to share! 🙂

    • Best of luck Wendy. I have such great respect for Dr Stefan Rapprich. I have video recorded several of his surgeries and he is such a great surgeon. I trust he will care for you well, and I look forward to reading about your journey on your BLOG! Warmest wishes, Catherine

      • Wendy says:

        Thanks so much for letting me know! Admittedly I am pretty nervous about the whole thing (a little over a week to go – argh!) but it’s definitely good to know I’m in good hands. 🙂

Leave a Reply

