Lipedema Awareness Continues to Grow

When I first discovered I have lipedema in July 2012, there was little information available. I originally put up the website http://www.lipedema-simplified.org as a repository for the significant amount of research I had gathered for my Primary Care Physician. He was willing, and I wanted to help him to help me. I never dreamed the far-reach this work would have. As of today, there have been over 20,000 unique visitors to the website, like me I think, looking for answers about this strange disorder that can look like fat but is painful and debilitating. I can say now that there are answers and there is hope.

Map of Unique Visitors: Sept 2012-May 2014

Map of Unique Visitors: Sept 2012-May 2014

So I am curious, here’s a benchmark as of today, 30 May 2014. Let’s see what reach a month of outreach can have. I’ll post this map and the map from June 30 on that day and we’ll see if we can raise awareness.

 

About catherineofcambridge

I am a Professor at Cambridge College in Massachusetts, teaching leadership development, research methods, and psychology. I am currently completing a Ph.D. in Media Psychology at Fielding Graduate University concentrating on empowering women who experience the distortions of body image as represented in the media. I am founder of lipoedema simplified LLC, dedicated to raising awareness and providing education for lipedema/lipoedema. I am the producer of the documentary and training programs about lipoedema: You Mean It’s Not My Fault: Lipoedema – A Fat Disorder.
This entry was posted in lipedema, Lipedema awareness, lipedema project, lipoedema project. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Lipedema Awareness Continues to Grow

  1. helensamia says:

    I believe you will… People are finding answers for something they have lived with a long time …

  2. Thanks Helen, there seems to be a lot of activity, we shall see!

Leave a Reply

