Documentary Preview

Obesity is a rising crisis, often blamed on diet and life-style choices. However, an estimated 17 million women in the U.S. and 370 million worldwide have the hereditary genetic fat disorder, lipedema/lipoedema, without knowing it. Anti-fat bias proliferates our healthcare system and this disorder is unknown and mis-diagnosed. This documentary follows the challenges of diagnosis, surgery and recovery while women with the disorder, physicians, and researchers try to come to grips with the disease.

About catherineofcambridge

I am a Professor at Cambridge College in Massachusetts, teaching leadership development, research methods, and psychology. I am currently completing a Ph.D. in Media Psychology at Fielding Graduate University concentrating on empowering women who experience the distortions of body image as represented in the media. I am founder of lipoedema simplified LLC, dedicated to raising awareness and providing education for lipedema/lipoedema. I am the producer of the documentary and training programs about lipoedema: You Mean It’s Not My Fault: Lipoedema – A Fat Disorder.
This entry was posted in documentary, lipedema. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Documentary Preview

  1. Lisa Sherman says:

    Hi Catherine,

    I am new to the lipedema community. I have just been diagnosed,with stage 2 lipedema and I saw your doc preview. I can see that you have worked really hard in shaping it. Is it a rough cut or are you done? In my day job I own a video production company, and I create documentaries for people and universities. If you are still in process and haven’t locked picture, I’d be glad to provide some notes on your project.

    Thanks,

    Lisa

  2. thank you, you are an Angel, with documentary skills, YES! I sent you an email with contact info.

Leave a Reply

